Posted: October 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

LAST STAGE

OF GRIEF

 

 

When he sniffs her old blanket

Does he smell her still lingering

There as though She will

Appear any moment

Does he remember

Her like

I do?

 

He pauses for a moment

Muzzle lifted to the red sky

A quiver in his lip

Eyes searching

Fur standing

Bristled on

End

 

Does he hear something

Beyond my human frequency

Observe something outside

My range of

Sight?

 

He turns around

Tail limp

Head low

Paws unsure of

Where to

Go

 

Finally he slumps back

In the house beside me

Penetrates my eyes

Questioningly

 

Satisfied of an answer

I never spoke aloud

Only in my Soul

But somehow he read

 In-between The

Mysterious Lines

 

We both walk up

The winding staircase

Knowing we are

Not alone

Believing in

Ghosts

 

~ ~

© Copyright 2011 ♥Susan Joyner-Stumpf

Leave a Reply

