Crescendo

Posted: October 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:
~ ~ ~
“I would rather be ashes than dust!
I would rather that my spark should burn out
    in a brilliant blaze than it should be stifled by dry-rot.
I would rather be a superb meteor, every atom
    of me in magnificent glow, than a sleepy and permanent planet.
The function of man is to live, not to exist.
I shall not waste my days trying to prolong them.
I shall use my time.” ~ Jack London
~ ~ ~

Crescendo

So the wind told me
Some wings never make it
Past the laughing dirt
Yet never give up kissing sky

Cactus-bearing landscapes
Miles of blades that shave the wind
Underfoot of purple sage in mournful bend
Never bloomed this year

Is ugliness not its own splendor
Beauty more hideous than
We’d ever confess
And are our intentions
         Loathsome, sinister
                   For reflection of either
Being more or less?

Great heart of arrogant winter
The white hare has lost her footing
Fallen into the mouth of
A hungry fox
Her babies lie frozen in an orphaned den
How is your condescendence now?

The wind reminded me
We are feathers
And never know where
We might fall

And we’ll never know if we’re
The one who seizes
or the one who lets go….

We end up invisible
                             All the same.

~ ~
© Copyright 2011 ♥Susan Joyner-Stumpf

Leave a Reply

