MISSISSIPPI ACHING (a lost innocence)

Posted: October 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

MISSISSIPPI ACHING (a lost innocence)

 

 

I still ache for a time

when there was nothing

but the memory . . .

 

         When I was just a

girl on a dusty afternoon

 

                   on a Mississippi porch ~ ~

your hand on my leg

the sun setting in a

virgin sky.

 

I was young,

you knew that ~

careful you were not

 

                   to place that gaze

beyond the summer

straps of a muslin

blouse . . .

 

The warning call of

a Raven I heeded not ~ ~

 

his blackness against

the sky the color of

your eyes.

 

And I fell inside

my weakness devoured

by the greater gifts of

God ~ ~

 

                   that lust could not

forgive a young lady

of sixteen

 

         on a sultry evening

in Mississippi

on a lazy

lemonade porch.

 

         Innocence laughed ~

your hand rising

up my leg stronger than

my will,

 

         pale flesh beneath

that gave in

 

to a Mississippi night

and heeded not

the warning of a

 

                   Raven, the last

thing I heard ~ ~

 

                   before I lost

the dusty memory

of just a girl.

 

 

 

 

 

 ~ ~

 © Copyright 2011 ♥Susan Joyner-Stumpf♫

Leave a Reply

