TWO PIECES WHOLE

I come reckoning to you

caught between thaw and snowdrift

an illusion if you want me to be

a reality you cannot face nor wanted to

a broken dream once long ago you

tried to fix before accepting that to

love me, was to love the

shattered parts

even

more.

Did the prisms of my wounds

blind you with their trailing brilliance?

Could even darkness from

 my silence deafen

you enough

 to close

 your

eyes

forever?

Can we mend this distance

quick enough

to conceive our

double

vision?

I come aching for you.

The pain is worth every step.

I hope for nothing

 but to die

in your arms as the

 only woman

you ever loved

 enough

 never to

live

without.

Was I the thunder that struck

your desert heart?

 I surrender

to you, but not

 as any

 helpless

thing seeking

 mortuary-pity.

I am the strength of your

weakened core.

 We’ve

finished

bombing the

 atoms of

our

 uncertainties

of love.  Now it’s time again

to watch, like magic,

 how the

pieces

always fall

around us,

as if even

anti-matter

knew of

 no other

existence

but

solidity.

*•.¸♥♥¸.•*

© Susan Joyner-Stumpf

Comments
  1. debbiebrooks37 says:

    Susan… so sweet and sad.. what a great poem.. I feel like crying.. Love you..

  2. drtruthman says:

    Beautiful Susan, simply beautiful. this has so many interpretations like many of your poems. I see both a husband and wife, 2 lovers, a human and their pet, maybe a person and their special place of prayer or meditation or maybe even man/woman and God. It really speaks. Love it so very much. Great job.

  3. Thank you both Deb and Dr. Lee. I wrote this for Howard, who has endured me for so long….all the ups and downs, the Roller Coaster of our Love. But at the end of the day, we both admit we’d take that ride again…..well……….maybe, we’d leave out a few of the stops.

Leave a Reply

