LOVE’S DEATH

 

The wick of our passion

Has finally died out

I try to resuscitate the embers

But its fire refuses to re-ignite

 

And I stare blandly into the lonely

Thick of night, wondering if

Your eyes also strain to find me

Despite the burning smoke and mist

 

Or is it solely I

Scrambling for one last match

To rekindle this blind, cold world

 

Who squeezes me to its hollow breast

With breaking sound barrier silence

~ alas to its fatal, indifferent,

And suffocating embrace

 

 

*•.¸♥♥¸.•*

© Susan Joyner-Stumpf

 

Comments
  1. drtruthman says:

    I really like this Susan. it is so beautiful and touching and for me, oh how it hits home. You need to add your Star rating so we can vote as well as Digg and Google+. It ups the traffic.
    I just love this.

  2. Dr Lee I don’t know what ‘add your Star rating’ is or how to do it. Can you inform me? I would so appreciate it, I’m not aware of that feature.

    • debbiebrooks37 says:

      Susan, so beautiful.. love this poem.. You write so beautiful… so touching to my soul. thank you dear friend. debbie

Leave a Reply

